House of Hard Bop

sun 16 nov 2008 15:30 
Genre: Bebop
Composer: Horace Silver

Horace Silver (1928) part 3. Today, pieces from 1955 when The Jazz Messengers were still led by this pianist and composer. Live recordings from café Bohemia in New York with the original strength: Kenny Dorham – trumpet, Hank Mobley – tenor sax, Silver – piano, Doug Watkins – bass, and Art Blakey – percussion.

The Theme (K.Dorham)
Minor’s Holiday (K.Dorham)
Alone Together (Dietz-Schwartz)
What’s New (Haggart-Burke)
Sporting Crowd (H.Mobley)
The Jazz Messengers, café Bohemia, Nov. 1955