American Highways | Concertzender | Klassiek, Jazz, Wereld en meer

American Highways

American music chosen by the American pianist pianist Guy Livingston

With all the bad news we’re hearing about nature and our environment, sometimes it’s good to pause, and consider the creatures of the field: “Let the waters bring forth abundantly the moving creature that hath life, and fowl that may fly above the earth in the open firmament of heaven.”
So let us listen to those creatures, laughing at them, and at ourselves this week.
In this episode of American Highways, pianist Guy Livingston brings us animal music of James Scott, Raymond Scott (no relation), George Gershwin, John Coltrane, and Wendy Mae Chambers.
More at

Theme Music :
Steve Reich. The Desert Music (1984)
First Movement (Fast).
Chorus of the Brooklyn Philharmonic, Members of the Brooklyn Philharmonic, Michael Tilson Thomas & William Carlos Williams.
Nonesuch Records 79101.
James Scott
Ragtime Oriole
Roger Sheilds, piano
VoxBox CD3X 3027
George Antheil
Serpent mécanique, arranged for piano six hands
Guy Livingston, Stéphane Leach, Philippe Keler: pianists.
Wergo 6762-2
Raymond Scott
Huckleberry Duck
Raymond Scott Ensemble
Columbia 53028
gospel traditional
I Know I’ve Been Changed
Dixie Hummingbirds
Body & Soul BS 2439
Blue Oyster Cult & Will Ferrell
“(Don’t Fear) The Reaper” parody
Blue Oyster Cult; with Will Ferrell, cowbell; Christopher Walken as the producer.
“We’re adding More Cowbell” Saturday Night Live, April 8, 2000
Oran Etkin
Little Lamb Jam
Oran Etkin, with Charanee Wade
Putumayo 229-2
George and Ira Gershwin
Little Jazz Bird
Lady Be Good Cast ensemble
Graalgember Records 2012
William Bolcom
A 60-second Ballet (for chickens)
Guy Livingston, piano
Wergo 6649-2
Libby Larson
Black Birds, Red Hills: Pedernal Hills
Libby Larson, piano; Caroline Hartig, clarinet
Innova Recordings/American Composer Forum ACF 002
Wendy Mae Chambers
“12 squared”
1. The Barons (3:44) 
2. Dance (5:06) 
3. Hoodoo Root Doctor (4:52)
4. Snake Dancer (3:19)
 5. Snake of Deep Waters (4:02)
Michael Pugliese, Randy Crafton, Jason Cirker, Charles Kiger, Andy Bowman, Kory Grossman, Mark Belair, Dan McMillan, Frank Cassara, David Cossin, Jimmy Musto, Dominic Donato, percussion; Howard Van Hyning, conductor.
NWR 80526-2
John Coltrane
The Inchworm
John Coltrane

Produced by: