American Highways | :: Radio

American Highways

American music chosen by the American pianist Guy Livingston

AMERICAN HIGHWAYS EPISODE #72: Inauguration Anxiety  

As you know I like to feature music of struggle and music of politics, and in this topical show I present my musical reflections on today’s inauguration. Bernard Hermann’s creepy score for Fahrenheit 451, about a dictatorship in which books are burned is followed by Leonard Bernstein’s Age of Anxiety. Actually more optimistic than its title would indicate. But then Song of Sorrows by Mary Jane Leach leads into Star Spangled Banner Fractured, performed by myself, and composed by Donal Fox. Freedom of the Press, a cynical song from Marc Blitzstein’s musical “The Cradle Will Rock” closes the show. Good luck, America!  

Theme Music :

Steve Reich. The Desert Music (1984)
First Movement (Fast).
Chorus of the Brooklyn Philharmonic, Members of the Brooklyn Philharmonic, Michael Tilson Thomas & William Carlos Williams.
Nonesuch Records 79101

Bernard Hermann
Farenheit 451
Hollywood Inter Orchestra

Leonard Bernstein
Symphony #2, “Age Of Anxiety” 1. Prologue 2. Seven Ages 3. Seven Stages 4. Dirge 5. Masque 6. Epilogue
Lukas Foss; Leonard Bernstein: Israel Philharmonic Orchestra
Deutsch Grammophon 415964-2

Mary Jane Leach
Song of Sorrows (1993)
Rooke Chapel Choir; William Payn, conductor
New World Records NWR80525-2

Donal Fox
Star Spangled Banner Fractured
Guy Livingston, piano
live performance at K13, 2008

Wendy Mae Chambers
Snake of Deep Waters (from “12 squared”)
Percussion – Andy Bowman, Dan McMillan, David Cossin, Dominic Donato, Frank Cassara, Jason Cirker, Jimmy Musto, Kory Grossman, Mark Belair, Michael Pugliese, Randy Crafton
NWR 80526-2

Marc Blitzstein, arr D. Robbins
Freedom of the Press, from “The Cradle Will Rock”
Steven Tyler; Henry Stram; Tim Jerome
RCA Victor 09026-63577-2


Produced by: