Contemporary Music | Concertzender | Classical, Jazz, World and more
Search for:

Contemporary Music

Intime Briefe (Intimate Letters). In this episode, composer Aspasia Nasopoulou reaches out to colleague Martijn Voorvelt.

Aspasia Nasopoulou (Athens, 1972) lives and works in Amsterdam.
She studied Piano and Composition at the conservatoires of Piraeus and Athens and also Ze studeerde Piano en Compositie aan conservatoria in Piraeus en Athene en behaalde tevens a Bachelor in Science in Geology. Supported by the Propondis Foundation, she completed her masters on Composition in 2005 at the Conservatoire of Amsterdam under Wim Henderickx specializing in contemporary music combined with contemporary dancing.
In 2012 she received the Encouragment Prize at the MCN-Donemus composition  competition for her piece ‘Lelia Doura’ for the Seldom Sene Recorder Quintet. In 2014 she was announced the winner by both the jury and the public in the ensemble category at the Keuris Componisten Concours wit her piece ‘Nanourisma’ for piano, flute and bassoon.
Her work is performed often by different national and international ensembles, including DoelenKwartet, Schreck Ensemble, Concord Ensemble (Dublin), Alma Mahler Sinfonietta (Italië), at various festivals like November Music, Dutch Harp Festival, Poetry International (Rotterdam), het Haäpavesi Folk Festival (Finland) and by various musicians like Micha Hamel, Marieke Grotenhuis, Nicolas Horvath, Eva Tebbe, Anna Veismane, Michael Tsalka, Trygve Brøske and the Duo Maclé.



1. Aleksandr Skrjabin. Prelude nr 12 opus 11 1’26” Heinrich Neuhaus, piano
2. Nikos Skalkottas. Sonatine no. 4 for violin and piano, part 2: Adagio. 6’53” Giorgos Demertzis, violin and Maria Asteriadou, piano
3. Iannis Xenakis. Antichthon (fragm.) 4’20” Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg olé. Arturo Tamayo.
4. Aspasia Nasopoulou. Lelia Doura. 6’03” Recoder quintet Seldom Sene
5. Aspasia Nasopoulou. Olinda. 2’38” Zoe Zenoidi, piano.
6. Martijn Voorvelt Breite und Tiefe. 10’46” Ophelia trio
7. Aspasia Nasopoulou. Haiku II. 3’48”. Alexandros Botinis, cello and Konstantinos Botinis percussion.
8. Aspasia Nasopoulou. Ten Dipoles no. 8 Straight-Bent. 2’37” Recorder quintet Seldom sene & live analogue sound installation Horst Rickels and Ernst Dullemond.
9. Martijn Voorvelt. Four parts – Drift. 5’34” Zephyr Quartet
10. Martijn Voorvelt. Shakespeare Assembly Kit, sonets 102 & 64. 4’52” Jelma van Amersfoort, guitar and Arnout Lems, baritone

Produced by:
To use this functionality . If you don't have an account yet, register first.

Create your account

Forgot Password?

Don't have an account yet? Registreer dan hier.

Change password