Duke Ellington | Concertzender | Klassiek, Jazz, Wereld en meer

Duke Ellington

tue 9 feb 2016 17:00 
Composer: Duke Ellington

Bandleader, composer and pianist Duke Ellington (1899-1974), part 55. Octet recordings from 1960 and 1962. The first ones were only released after Ellington’s passing under the title “Unknown Sessions”, with trombone player Lawrence Brown in splendid form. After that, three pieces from 1962 with saxophone player Coleman Hawkins.

D.E.: Unknown Sessions (Columbia 472084 2)
D.E.: D.E. meets Coleman Hawkins (Impulse IMP 11622)