L’Esprit Baroque | Concertzender | Klassiek, Jazz, Wereld en meer

L’Esprit Baroque

The baroque spirit in all of its musical forms. Today, we focus on the recorder.

The recorder was already popular during the Renaissance, and remained so until the 18th century. During the early Baroque period, musicians were free to play music – by Johan Hermann Schein, among others – on any instrument of their choice.
We will also hear music from the late Baroque era for the recorder as a solo instrument, with continuo accompaniment.

Johann Hermann Schein (1586 – 1630)
1. From Banchetto Musicale (1617), suite no 15 for 4 instruments and basso continuo
– I Padouana
– II Gagliarda
– III Courente
– IV Allemande
– V Tripla
Brisk Recorder Quartet Amsterdam. Susanne Braumann, viola da gamba. Bernard Winsemius, organ
(CD: German consort music of the 17th century. Globe Records GLO 5214, 2006)

Andreas Heinrich Schulze (1681 – 1742)
2. Sonata for recorder and basso continuo no 1 in D minor
– I Adagio
– II Allegro
– III Largo
– IV Vivace
Barbara Heindlmeier, recorder. Ensemble La Ninfea
(CD: A. H. Schultzen – Recorder sonatas. Raumklang RK 3402, 2015)

Louis-Antoine Dornel (1685 – 1765)
3. Suite for flute and basso continuo in D minor
– I Prélude
– II Allemande
– III Plainte
– IV Passacaille
Erik Bosgraaf, recorder. Cordevento
(CD: Le Plaintif – Doleful music of the French Grand Siècle. Brilliant Classics 95694, 2020)

Johann Christian Schickhardt (1681 – 1762)
4. Concerto for 4 recorders and basso continuo no 2 in D minor
– I Allegro
– II Adagio
– III Vivace
– IV Allegro
Sirena Recorder Quartet. Dan Laurin, recorder. Mogens Rasmussen, viola da gamba. Fredrik Bock, baroque guitar, theorbo. Leif Meyer, harpsichord, organ
(CD: Baroque. BIS Records BIS-CD-1234, 2003)

Georg Philipp Telemann (1681 – 1767)
5. Sonata a 4 in G major, TWV 43:G10
– I Vivace
– II Andante
– III Vivace
6. Triosonate in C major, TWV 42:C2
– I Dolce
– II Allegro
– III Grave
– IV Vivace
7. From Trio sonata in G minor, TWV 42:g9
– I Suave ma non adagio
Erik Bosgraaf, recorder. Lucile Boulanger and Robert Smith, viola da gamba. Alessandro Pianu, harpsichord
(CD: Telemann – The trio sonatas for recorder and viola da gamba. Brilliant Classics 96393, 2022)


Featured image: A young man playing the tenor recorder, northern Italy 1630 (source: Jean Moust.com)



Produced by: