Theme | Concertzender | Classical, Jazz, World and more
Search for:

CZ Hollandia III: 2000 and beyond.

The Concertzender has been around for forty years. In all those years, the station has consistently put Dutch contemporary music on the map. In three special Theme programmes we put the spotlight on ‘CZ Hollandia’. In other words, a series of programmes with highlights from the catalogue of Dutch contemporary music. In addition to some of the well-known hits, the programmes will also feature modern music from the Netherlands that deserves to be rediscovered. Absolute classics together with forgotten gems. In this episode of Theme, the period after 2000 is highlighted. This was a kaleidoscopic era in which composed music in the Netherlands continuously changed colour. Creativity flourished as never before, from electronic experimentation to a reappraisal of traditional beauty. Female composers came to the forefront. The Concertzender still remains on top of things and the future of Dutch contemporary music is bright. In the programme you will hear compositions by Yannis Kyriakides, Rozalie Hirs, Kate Moore, Joey Roukens, Sander Germanus, Peter Adriaansz and Michel van der Aa.



1. Yannis Kyriakides: ‘Chaoids’ (2001), for violin, alto saxophone, vibraphone and soundtrack, from Yannis Kyriakides – Antichamber. Ensemble Intégrales. Unsounds 21 CD

2. Sander Germanus: ‘Lunapark’ (2005-2006), for sixteen musicians, from Sander Germanus – Lunapark. Asko-Schönberg ensemble + Calefax Rietkwintet. Etcetera KTC 1389 CD

3-5. Peter Adriaansz: ‘Waves 11-13’ (2008), for variable ensemble, sine waves, and electronics, from Peter Adriaansz – Waves. Ensemble Klang. Ensemble Klang Records EKCD1 CD

6. Kate Moore: ‘Ridgeway’ (2009), for ensemble, from Bang on a Can-All Stars – Big, Beautiful, Dark and Scary. Bang on a Can-All Stars. Cantaloupe Records CA21074 CD

7. Rozalie Hirs: ‘Platonic ID’ (2005-2006), for thirteen musicians, from Rozalie Hirs – Platonic ID. Asko Ensemble conducted by Bas Wiegers. Attacca 27107 CD

8-9. Michel van der Aa: ‘Queen of the Night’ + ‘Let Me Go’ (2019) for singers, choir, instruments and electronics, from Michel van der Aa – Time Falling. Kate Miller Heidke (zang), Nederlandse Kamerkoor + Michel van der Aa (instruments + electronics). Disquiet Media DQM07 CD

10-12. Joey Roukens: ‘In Unison’ (2018) in three parts, for orchestra and two pianos, from Lucas & Arthur Jussen – Dutch Masters. Radio Philharmonic Orchestra + Lucas & Arthur Jussen (pianos) conducted by Karina Canellakis. Deutsche Grammophon 00289 4819859 CD


Produced by:
To use this functionality . If you don't have an account yet, register first.

Create your account

Forgot Password?

Don't have an account yet? Registreer dan hier.

Change password