Series Jordi Savall

thu 2 jan 2020 12:00 
Composer: Jordi Savall

Series about and with Catalan gambist and conductor Jordi Savall. A new recording of Händel’s Messiah by Jordi Savall and his ensembles!

Händel’s Messiah is a world famous oratorio popularly played around christmas time. This year, Jordi Savall’s label ‘AliaVox’ released a double album with a recording of a performance of this piece by La Capella Reial de Catalunya and Le Concert des Nations led by Jordi Savall.

The recording was made in December 2017 at Versailles.

George Frederic Handel (1685-1759)
From Messiah, HWV 56:
1 Ouverture
2 Comfort my people
3 Ev’ry valley shall be exalted
4 And the glory of the Lord
5 Thus saith the Lord
6 But who may abide the day of his coming?
7 And he shall purify
8 Behold a virgin shall conceive
9 O thou that tellest good tiding to Zion
10 For, behold, darkness shall cover the earth
11 The people that walked in darkness
12 For unto us a child is born
13 Pifa (‘Pastoral Symphony’)
14 There were shepherds abiding in the field
15 And the angel said to them
16 And suddenly there was with the angel
17 Glory to God
18 Rejoice greatly, O daughter of Zion
19 Then shall the eyes of the blind
20 He shall feed his flock
21 His yoke is easy

22 Hallelujah

Rachel Redmond, soprano. Damien Guillon, countertenor. Nicholas Mulroy, tenor. Matthias Winckhler, bass. La Capella Reial de Catalunya and Le Concert des Nations led by Jordi Savall, concertmaster Manfredo Kraemer
(CD: Georg Friedrich Handel, Messiah, An Oratorio HWV 56, AVSA9936, 2019)

With thanks to PIAS Holland, Amsterdam.

Produced by: