:: Radio

Sound the Trumpet, Strike the Viol!

mon 3 feb 2020 11:00 

Early Music expert Kees Koudstaal serves up the most wonderful and recent classical and Early Music CDs

In today’s episode: new releases by fortepianist Yoko Kaneko, violist Emilio Moreno, lute player Jacob Lindberg and the KitGut Quartet.

1. Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
– Impromptus opus 90, D 899 no. 4 ‘Allegretto’
– Impromptus opus posthumus 142, D 780 no. 3 ‘Thème de Rosamunde et variations’
Performed by: Yoko Kaneko, fortepiano
(CD: ‘Schubert – Impromptus – Moments Musicaux’, label MA-recordings, no. 739978, 2020)

2. Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
– Sonata in C minor for viola and harpsichord (BWV 76, 581-2 & 586)
Performed by: Emilio Moreno, viola da braccio (viola). Aarón Zapico, harpsichord
(CD: The Melancholic Bach, label Glossa, no. GCD920316, 2019)

3. Jan Antonín Losy, Count of Losinthal (around 1650-1721)
– Suite voor lute in G minor.
Performed by: Jacob Lindberg, lute
(CD: Note d’oro, label BIS (sacd), nr. SDG 732, 2019)

4. Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)
– String Quartet in D major. Opus 71, no. 3
Performed by: KitGut Quartet featuring first violinist Amandine Beyer
(CD: ’Tis too late to be wise, label Harmonia Mundi, no. HMM 902313, 2020)

Produced & presented by: