:: Radio


tue 5 may 2020 00:00 

JazzNotJazz focus on Herbie Hancock part 2 – Before and After.

From legendary albums like Maiden Voyage and Takin’ Off all the way to The New Standard and The Joni Letters.

This two-part JazzNotJazz special is about one of the most legendary pianists and composers of jazz: Herbie Hancock (1940), a musician with a tremendous career. He was part of Miles Davis’ band, leader of the groundbreaking Headhunters and maker of jazz hits like Rockit.

Part two of this special focuses on what happened in his career before and after the ‘disco period’ in the 70s and 80s, through a number of tracks from various albums from the 60s, 90s and recent albums.
With albums like Empyrean Isles and Maiden Voyage from the 60’s, Hancock wrote jazz history. After leaving behind the more disco oriented sound of the 70s and 80s in the 90s he produced a number of special tribute albums and special collaborations.


01 – Driftin’ – Takin’ Off (1962)
02 – Cantaloupe Island – Empyrean Isles (1964)
03 – Maiden Voyage – Maiden Voyage (1965)
04 – Wiggle Waggle – Fat Albert Rotunda (1969)
05 – Manhattan Island – The Piano (1979)
06 – Moon / Light – Village Life (1985)
07 – Love Is Stronger Than Pride – The New Standard (1996)
08 – Here Come De Honey Man – Gershwin’s World (1998)
09 – Edith And The Kingpin – River: The Joni Letters (2007)
10 – Tomorrow never knows – The Imagine Project (2010)


Produced by: