Concertzender | Klassiek, Jazz, Wereld en meer

The wayward Prokofiev

wed 23 feb 2022 12:00 
Composer: Sergej Prokofiev

A docudrama about one of the most prominent and independent composers of the 20th century.

De Wayward Prokofiev.

On ‘The wayward Prokofiev’ every fortnight we share an hour-long feature on the life and work of the Russian 20th century composer Sergei Prokofiev, who was undoubtedly one of the greatest composers of the 20th century.

Today: Prokofiev’s third symphony, a master piece, which is so different from his 3 other symphony works. A work form 1928, similar to his 1929 raked together divertimento op. 43. We also share more Russian avant garde, specifically a selection of Mikhail Matsyushin’s 1913 opera ‘Victory Over The Sun’.


  • Sergei Prokofiev. Symphony no. 3 op. 44 in C minor (1928) Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra

conducted by Andrew Litton.

  • Sergei Prokofiev    Divertimento for orchestra op. 43 (1929). Royal Scottish National Orchestra

conducted by Neeme Järvi.

  • Mikhail Matyushin. Victory Over The Sun (opera-selection). Baku Symphony Orchestra conducted by Kazimir Malevich.


Produced by: