Concertzender | Klassiek, Jazz, Wereld en meer

An Early Evening Stroll

mon 14 mar 2022 11:00 

Broken in the Bud – Juan Crisóstomo Arriaga – 1

This is the first in a series of programmes containing music from composers who died when they were young. It is titled ‘Broken in the Bud’.

The first two episodes focus on Arriaga, a composer originally from the Basque Country. His full name is Juan Crisóstomo Jacobo Antonion de Arriaga y Balzola. He was born on 27 January 1806 in Bilboa, precisely 50 years after Mozart was born. Someone he was often compared to. Arriaga passed away on 16 January 1826, eleven days before his 20th birthday.



Juan Crisóstomo de Arriaga

  1. Overture, Op. 1 ‘Nonetto’. Le Concert des Nations conducted by Jordi Savall
  2. Variations on the theme of ‘La Húngara’. Serge Blanc, violin; Antonio Ruiz Pipó, piano
  3. String quartet no. 1 in D minor. Cuarteto Casals
  4. Stabat Mater. Robert Getchell & Mikael Stenbaek, tenor; Hubert Claessens, baritone; Il Fondamento conducted by Paul Dombrecht
  5. Allegro from Symphony in D major. Concerto Köln
Produced by: