Concertzender | Klassiek, Jazz, Wereld en meer

The String Quartet

wed 29 jun 2022 10:00 
Composer: Nikos Skalkottas

Nikos Skalkottas (1904-1949) – String Quartet no. 1(1928)

  1. Allegro giusto, 2. Andante con variazioni, 3. Allegro (ben ritmato) vivace

Performed by: New Hellenic Quartet

Nikos Skalkottas (1904-1949) – String Quartet no. 1 (1935)

  1. Allegro moderato, 2. Andante, 3. Rondo: Allegro vivace

Performed by: New Hellenic Quartet

Nikos Skalkottas (1904-1949) – Ten Musical sketches (1940)

  1. Sinfonia, 2. Concerto, 3. Passacaglia, 4. Suita, 5. Concertino, 6. Serenata, 7. Ragtime, 8. Notturno, 9. Capriccio, 10. Rondo

Performed by: New Hellenic Quartet

An interesting figure in musical life between the two world wars was the Greek composer Nikos Skalkottas, who studied with Kurt Weill and Arnold Schönberg, among others. His music is extremely expressive, hovering between tonal and atonal, such as the three-part First String Quartet from 1928. The Third String Quartet (1935) is clearly a reflection of Skalkottas’ learning period with Schoenberg. Elements of the twelve-tone technique now play an increasingly important role in his composing.

In 1940, Nikos Skalkottas composed a suite for string quartet or string orchestra under the title Ten musical sketches. To approximate the idea of a sketch, each part comprises only a single page of music! Each of the movements hints at classical forms and genres. In the Rondo finale, a Greek dance, the Kalamatianos, sounds as an exception.

Produced & presented by: