Concertzender | Klassiek, Jazz, Wereld en meer

The wayward Prokofiev

wed 24 aug 2022 12:00 
Composer: Sergej Prokofiev

A docudrama about one of the most prominent and independent composers of the 20th century.

Every fortnight, ‘The Wayward Prokofiev’ devotes one hour to the life and work of Russian composer Sergei Prokofiev, undoubtedly one of the greatest composers of the 20th century.

On today’s broadcast: Romeo & Juliet act 3 & 4, and there is not only much to listen to, but also much to say about this piece. In addition, the separately published orchestral suite No. 1 from the ballet (op. 64bis)


  • Sergei Prokofiev. Romeo & Juliet act 3 & 4, op. 64, ballet (1936/1940), Baltimore Symphony Orchestra led by Marin Alsop.
  • Sergei Prokofiev. ¬†Orchestra suite no. 1 op. 64bis Romeo & Juliet (1936). Minneapolis Symphony Orchestra led by Stanislaw Skrowaczewski.


Produced by: