Wandering the Medieval | Concertzender | Classical, Jazz, World and more
Search for:

Wandering the Medieval

tue 4 oct 2022 10:00 hrs

Music from the 12th, 13th and 14th century. This time, Roaming the Classical Period is dedicated to one manuscript: the so-called Codex Las Huelgas.

The Codex Las Huelgas is a music manuscript from somewhere around 1300. It originates from and is preserved in the Cistercian monastery of Santa María La Real de Las Huelgas in Burgos, northwestern Spain, then Castile. It contains 45 unison and 141 polyphonic religious works.

Anonymous, from the Codex Las Huelgas
1. Kirie, fons bonitatis
2. Gloria, spiritus et alme
3. Sanctus, cleri cetus psallat letus
4. Agnus dei, o Jhesu salvator
5. Sanctis, veni redemptor gencium
6. Bonum est confidere
7. Plange castella misera
8. Quod promisit ab eterno
Ensemble Gilles Binchois conducted by Dominique Vellard
(CD: “Fons luminis – Codex Las Huelgas” – Evidence Classics EVCD051, 2018)

Anonymous, from the Codex Las Huelgas
9. Mater, patris et filia
10. Ex illustri nata prosapia
11. Audi, pontus; audi, tellus
12. Mundi dolens de iactura
13. Virgo sidus aureum
Sequentia conducted by Barbara Thornton and Benjamin Bagby
(CD: “Codex Las Huelgas – Gesänge aus dem königlichen Konvent Las Huelgas de Burgos (13./14. Jh.)” (Vox Iberica II) – deutsche harmonia mundi 05472 77238 2, 1992)

Johannes Ciconia (approx. 1370-1412)
14. Regina gloriosa (instrumental performance)
Spielleyt – Early Music Freiburg
(CD: “Cum tympano – Musik des Mittelalters mit Perkussion” – Christophorus CHR 77296, 2008)

Produced by:
To use this functionality . If you don't have an account yet, register first.

Create your account

Forgot Password?

Don't have an account yet? Registreer dan hier.

Change password