An Early Evening Stroll | Concertzender | Klassiek, Jazz, Wereld en meer

An Early Evening Stroll

tue 15 feb 2022 19:00 
Composer: Anton Arensky

On ‘An Early Evening Stroll’ we continue exploring Anton Arenski’s (1861-1906) oeuvre. The scherzo from his 1st piano trio is often performed separately, because it is so incredibly sparkly. Though the rest of this trio is also worth listening to. We will be listening to a warm-blooded elite performance by the Borodin Trio. Arenski’s violin concerto is not an everyday affair. Yet violin legend Heifetz found the fragment “Tempo di valse” so worthwhile that he made an arrangement of it to perform as an encore.


Anton Arenski: 1st Piano trio in D minor opus 32

Borodin Trio


Anton Arenski: Violin concerto in A minor, opus 54.

Ilja Gringolts, violin

BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra

Ilan Volkov


Anton Arenski: Tempo di valse (arr. Heifetz) from Violin concerto in A minor op. 54

Jascha Heifetz, violin

Emanuel Bay, piano


Anton Arenski: ‘Cadence de la harpe’ from ‘Egyptian Nights’ op. 50

Moscow Symphony Orchestra

Dmitry Yablonsky

Produced by: