Bach Ad Infinitum | :: Radio

Bach Ad Infinitum

Episode 813. This week, we give our programme Bach Ad Infinitum a royal touch: Bach composed The Musical Offering on a theme that was composed by Frederick the Great, King of Prussia. You can listen to a different performance of this work every day.
Today: Ensemble Aurora.

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
1. The Musical Offering, BWV 1079
– 1. Ricercar A 3
– 2. Canon Perpetuus Super Thema Regium
– 3. Canon A 2: Cancrizans
– 4. Canon A 2: Violin In Unissono
– 5. Canon A 2: Per Motum Contrarium
– 6. Canon A2: Per Augmentation, Contrario Motu
– 7. Canon A 2: Per Tonos
– 8. Fuga Canonica In Epidiapente
– 9. Ricercar A 6
– 10. Quaerendo Invenietis
– 11. Sonata Sopr’ll Sogetto Reale A Traversa, Violino E Continu”:
– Largo
– Allegro
– Andante
– Allegro
– 12. Canon Perpetuus
Ensemble Aurora led by Enrico Gatti, violin

We’ll end with cantata “Wie bist du denn, o Gott, in Zorn auf mich entbrannt” by Johann Christoph Bach, a distant cousin of Johann Sebastian. Read more about this cantata (in Dutch) on Eduard van Hengel’s website.

Johann Christoph Bach (1642-1703)
2. Cantata “Wie bist du denn, o Gott, in Zorn auf mich entbrannt”
Geoffroy Buffière, bass. Akadêmia led by Françoise Lasserre


Photo: Johann Christoph Bach

Produced by: