L’Esprit Baroque | Concertzender.nl :: Radio

L’Esprit Baroque

The baroque spirit in all its musical shapes. Today’s programme is about the suite. A suite is a piece of music that consists of a number of short movements, almost all of which have dance rhythms.

In the 18th century there was a kind of standard form, in which the parts are in succession: allemande, courante, sarabande and gigue. It was possible to deviate from this standard form at will.

Antonio Caldara (1670–1736)
1 Sonata da camera for 2 violins and basso continuo in E major, op. 2 no. 11 (1699)
– Preludio
– Alemanda
– Sarabanda
– Giga
Amandine Beyer and Leila Schayegh, violin. Jonathan Pesek, cello. Jörg-Andreas Bötticher, harpsichord. Matthias Spaeter, lute
(cd: Antonio Caldara – Trio sonatas. Glossa GCD 922514, 2015)

François Couperin (le grand) (1668–1733)
2 Les nations (1726), premier ordre: la Française
– Sonade
– Allemande
– Première courante
– Seconde curante
– Sarabande
– Gigue
– Chaconne ou passacaille
– Gavotte
– Menuet
Les Talens Lyriques conducted by Christophe Rousset, harpsichord
(cd: François Couperin – Les nations. Aparté Music AP197, 2018)

William Lawes (1602–1645)
3 The Royall Consort (ca 1630), sett no 4 in D major.
– Paven
– Aire
– Aire
– Aire
– Corant
– Corant
– Saraband
Elisabeth Kenny, theorbe. Phantasm conducted by Laurence Dreyfus, diskantgamba
(cd: William Lawes – The Royal Consort. Linn Records CKD 470, 2015)

Robert de Visée (1650–1725)
4 Pieces de théorbe et de luth (1716), suite no 7 in D minor.
– Allemande La Royale
– Courante
– Sarabande
– Gavotte
– Chaconne (aanvulling)
Thomas Dunford, architecht. Jean Rondeau, harpsichord
(cd: Barricades. Erato 0190298269951, 2020)

Produced by: