L’Esprit Baroque | Concertzender.nl :: Radio

L’Esprit Baroque

thu 8 sep 2022 20:00 

The baroque spirit in all its musical shapes. In Memoriam: Two early music legends, Alice Hoffelner-Harnoncourt (1930-2022) and Marie Leonhardt-Amsler (1928-2022).

Today we remember two recently deceased early music legends: Alice Hoffelner-Harnoncourt (1933-2022) and Marie Leonhardt-Amsler (1928-2022).

They were violinists, close friends and co-founders of two leading early music ensembles that introduced their audience to performances on old, historical instruments. These were the ensembles Concentus Musicus led by Nicolaus Harnoncourt (+ 2016) and the Leonhardt Consort led by Gustav Leonhardt (+ 2012). In these ensembles, the two violinists had the function of concertmaster.

Alice and Marie collaborated on the first major integral recordings of all cantatas by Johann Sebastian Bach.



Johan Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
1. Double concerto in D minor for violin and oboe, BWV 1060
– Allegro
– Adagio
– Allegro
Alice Harnoncourt, violin. Jürg Schaeflein, oboe. Concentus Musicus led by Nicolaus Harnoncourt
(CD: Das Alte Werk Double concertos Bach & sons. Warner Classics. Teldec Classics)

Marie Leonhardt

Henry Purcell (1659-1695)
2. Chaconne for two violins and basso continuo, Z 730 in G minor

Biagio Marini (1594-1663)
3. Per ogni sorte di strumento musicale, opus 22: passacaglia

Heinrich Franz Biber (1644-1704)
4. Passacaglia
5. Menso Sonora: Partita no. 3

Ensemble Baroque de Mateus: Marie Leonhardt and Andrew Manze, violin. Richard Egarr, harpsichord.
(CD: The great Chaconnes of the Baroque. Canal Grande CG 9109)

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
6. Cantata “Ich armer Mensch, ich Sündenknecht”, BWV 55, for the 22nd Sunday after Trinity
– Aria Ich armer Mensch, ich Sündenknecht Tenor
– Recitativo: Ich habe wider Gott gehandelt
– Aria: erbarme dich, lass die Tränen dich erweichen
– Recitativo: ernarme dich! Jedoch nun
– Choral: Bin ich gleich von dir gewichen

Kurt Equiluz, tenor. Knabenchor Hannover and Leonhardt-Consort led by Gustav Leonhardt
(CD: Das Kantatenwerk – Sacred cantatas vol 3. Teldec 4509 91757-2)

Johann Sebastian Bach
7. From Concerto for violin in E major, BWV 1042: Adagio

Alice Harnoncourt, violin. Concentus Musicus Wien led by Nicolaus Harnoncourt
(CD: J.S.Bach – Violinkonzerte, Alice Harnoncourt. Teldec 8.44014 ZS)



Produced by: