Northern Lights | :: Radio

Northern Lights

sun 16 may 2021 15:00 
Composer: Arianna Savall

Scandinavian en Baltic music

Northern Lights IX.

In Northern Lights, we exclusively feature Scandinavian and Baltic music every two weeks. There are no boundaries in our search for old and new music, famous and obscure music. We happily take on the whole spectrum, from classical music to cross-overs. In today’s episode, we’ll feature pieces from Iceland and Estonia. More specifically, student-teacher combos. We’ll listen to the newly discovered Páll Ragnar Pálsson and his Estonian teacher and composer Helene Tulve.


  • Páll Ragnar Pálsson.

Atonement (2020)

Lucidity (2020)

Stalker’s monologue (2020). Caput Ensemble featuring Tui Hirv (soprano)

  •  Helena Tulve.

Folding Simple Minded in a tiny Cube (2014) Arianna Savall. Riivo Kallasmaa, Helena Tulva

  •  Páll Ragnar Pálsson.

Midsummer’s Night (2020)

Wheel Crosses under Moss (2020) Caput Ensemble. Tui Hirv (soprano) and Ásdís Sif Gunnarsdottir (spoken word)

Produced by: