Radio Romantica | Concertzender | Klassiek, Jazz, Wereld en meer

Radio Romantica

tue 22 mar 2022 20:00 
Composer: Franz Berwald

Franz Berwald did not have an easy life. He learned to play the violin rather well and earned his money in the Stockholm opera orchestra, but eventually he also worked as a wood merchant, as the music did not really pan out.

But he was determined to become a composer as well, so he pursued his career in Paris and Berlin. People there started to appreciate his symphonic works very slowly. People in his own country continued to find his unusual ideas and unexpected harmonic and instrumental twists strange. Besides his first symphony, you will hear two symphonic poems and a duo for violin and piano.

1. Franz Berwald – Reminiscence of the Norwegian Mountains/Memory of the Norwegian Alps
2. Franz Berwald – Sinfonie sérieuse (Symphony no.1)
3. Franz Berwald – Elfenspiel
Danish National Radio Symphony Orchestra conducted by Thomas Dausgaard

4. Franz Berwald – Allegro from Duo in D major for piano and violin
Marieke Blankensteijn, violin / Susan Tomes, piano

Produced by: