The String Quartet | :: Radio

The String Quartet

sun 1 may 2022 12:00 

Erwin Schulhoff (1894-1942) – From the Suite (1923)

  1. Alla Serenata, 3. Alla Czeca

Performed by: Alma Quartet Amsterdam

Bohuslav Martinů (1890-1959) – String Quartet No. 4 (1937)

  1. Allegro poco moderato, 2. Allegretto scherzando, 3. Adagio, 4. Allegro

Performed by: Martinů Quartet

Bohuslav Martinů (1890-1959) – String Quartet No. 5 (1938)

  1. Allegro non troppo, 2. Adagio, 3. Allegro vivo, 4. Lento – Allegro

Performed by: Martinů Quartet

Erwin Schulhoff composed the Suite for string quartet in 1923. This music fits perfectly into the ‘roaring twenties’, but now from a Czech perspective.

Martinů’s Fourth and Fifth String Quartet from 1937 and 1938 fit in well with the changes in culture after the stock market crash of 1929 and the search for more lyricism. Furthermore, these works show that Martinů became increasingly homesick for his homeland over the years. The Fifth String Quartet was originally dedicated to the young composer Vitezslava Kaprálová, who studied with Martinů in Paris and had a brief affair with her teacher.

Produced & presented by: