The String Quartet | :: Radio

The String Quartet

sun 13 nov 2022 12:00 

Alexander Gretchaninov (1864-1956) – String Quartet No.4, in f major, opus 124 (1929)

Allegro moderato, 2. Moderrto assai, 3. Allegro vivo, 4. Lento, ma non troppo – Vivo
Performers: Utrecht String Quartet

Sergei Prokofiev (1891-1953) – String Quartet no.1, in b minor, opus 50 (1930)

Allegro, 2. Andante molto – Vivace, 3. Andante
Performers: Pavel Haas Quartet

As a composer, Alexander Gretchaninov belonged to the generation of Alexander Glazunov. He preferred to write lilting, romantic music. His Fourth String Quartet, in F gr.t., opus 124, which he completed in France in 1929, is a fine example of his style. Prokofiev had also emigrated to France. His first quartet is a full-blooded Russian work with references to the ballet The Prodigal Son (1929) and the ballet Romeo and Juliet (1936), written later in Russia.

Produced & presented by: