The wayward Prokofiev | Concertzender | Klassiek, Jazz, Wereld en meer

The wayward Prokofiev

sun 8 aug 2021 15:00 

Prokofiev XIV. A docudrama about one of the most prominent and independent composers of the 20th century.

In ‘Prokofiev: modernist on his own terms’, every fortnight an hour-long feature on the life and work of the Russian 20th century composer Sergei Prokofiev. Undoubtedly one of the greatest composers of the 20th century. With a hefty portion (this time from the second act) from his first opera (The Gambler), his violin concerto both from 1917. Also, for comparison, with a mazurka oboe by fellow composer, and once teacher of Prokofiev, Alexander Glazunov also from 1917, a work for violin and orchestra.

In this episode:

S. Prokofiev. The Gambler op. 24 (1917) Beginning second act. St. Petersburg Mariinsky theatre orchestra, Kirov opera choir conducted by Valery Gergiev. Soloists: Sergei Alksashkin, Lyuba Kazarnovskaya, Vladimir Galusin, Elena Obraztsova, Nikolai Gassiev
S. Prokofiev. First Violin Concerto op. 19 in D major(1917). Lisa Batiashvili (violin) and the Chamber Orchestra of Europe conducted by Yannick Nézet-Séguin
A. Glazunov. Mazurka Oberek in D major op. 100b (1917) Itzhak Perlman (violin) and

The Abbey Road Ensemble conducted by Lawrence Foster.

Produced by: