Morning Edition

Works of George Gershwin, Erich Wolfgang Korngold, Antonín Dvorák, Zoltán Kodály, Franz Liszt, Frank Martin, Jean Françaix, Duke Ellington.

 07:01 3 Preludes

George Gershwin
Dorothy Lewis-Griffith, piano

 07:08 Second Rhapsody (version for piano solo)

George Gershwin
Dorothy Lewis-Griffith, piano

 07:24 String Quartet No.2 in E major, Op. 26

Erich Wolfgang Korngold
Doric String Quartet

 07:47 Overture for Orchestra, Op. 91 ‘In Nature’s Realm’

Antonín Dvorák
Czech Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by Karel Sejna

 08:01 Duo for Violin and Cello, Op. 7

Zoltán Kodály
Liza Ferschtman, violin; Dmitri Ferschtman, cello

 08:27 Müller Lieder of Franz Schubert, S.565

Franz Liszt
Andrea Wiesli, piano

 08:45 Piano Concerto No.2 in A major, S.125

Franz Liszt
Alexandre Kantorow, piano; Tapiola Sinfonietta conducted by Jean-Jacques Kantorow

 09:08 Études for String Orchestra (arrangements for 2 guitars by Harald Stampa)

Frank Martin
Harald Stampa and Benjamin Scheck, guitar

 09:16 4 Pieces for guitar (‘Quatre pièces brèves’)

Frank Martin
Harald Stampa, guitar

 09:26 7 Dances from ‘Les Malheurs de Sophie’

Jean Françaix
Stevenson Winds

 09:40 Three Black Kings – Ballet

Duke Ellington
Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by JoAnn Faletta. Sal Andolina, clarinet & alto saxophone

Produced by: